May 28, 2023

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governors have shortlisted five presidential aspirants for a possible consensus candidate. The National leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Governor Kayode Fayemi, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State.Chairman, Northern APC Governors’ Forum and Plateau State Governor were the shortlisted candidates as Simon Lalong disclosed this on Tuesday during an interview.

According to him, “From our own recommendations, as of this morning, we recommended five people. In alphabetical order, we said Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, John Kayode Fayemi, David Umahi and Professor Yemi Osinbajo. Those are the ones we made recommendations and we said we should put them forward.”

He said consensus was still possible and that right from Monday up till today, the governors had been doing consultations like Mr President said, ‘I give you the opportunity, work on it.’Lalong stated that the governors and the National Working Committee would continue on that consensus.“As of yesterday, we were able to even reduce, made recommendations of about five persons, from 23 to recommendations of about 13 aspirants without disqualifying anybody,” he added.

He also said within that 13 aspirants that were graded by the Screening Committee, “we now looked at it and then recommended, that was jointly done by the Progressive governors and members of the National Working Committee, reducing it to five.”

Marvelous Ogidi

View all posts

Add comment

Your email address will not be published.